Poly Solution 1.0

Posted: 22. May 2014 in Uncategorized

In a previous entry (posted around this time last Summer), I wrote about building what I called a “poly compartment”, inspired by the Poly Tunnel concept.

Well, I never really followed that idea through. Never got around to it, if you want the truth. I discovered that I couldn’t build the thing without purchasing materials, and that sort of collided with my general principals when it comes to DIY projects.

However, this Spring it came to my attention that I could actually buy a small green house, poly style, for less money that it would cost to build one. So, now we have this small, green house in the corner of our court yard. For germinating plants.

 

In the last weeks of April, I planted a variety of seeds in small, black plastic cells, put them in the tool shed until the first small green dots appeared and finally put them in the green house. In there they can grow until they reach the size and strength they need to survive in the soil of our back yard.

 

These are  (left) Oregano and (right) Cumin.

 

… and this is the biggest of around a dusin of pumpkin sprouts. I predict this little fellow will grow to become my prize-winning pumpkin. (Not that I intend to participate in any competition. I don’t think we even have competitions like that around here.)

Anyway, I might be working hard from dawn till dusk to secure food on the table for this family, but others seem to have different ideas as to what to do with their lives…

 

Yeah, we don’t mind a little sun (on our fat belly) as long as we can keep our face in the shade.

Somebody ought to tell her that this position is slightly awkward, but then again, she’s a cat, and a cat can never be awkward, right?

 

😉

Comments
  1. Well, they can, but you’d better not tell them.

    Nice looking little “greenhouse”. I’m sure it will serve you well. An alternative, if you’d like something a little more permanent, is what the Brits call a “cold frame”. Simple enough, I won’t even attempt to describe it. Just look it up somewhere.

  2. gdare says:

    Good, now you don’t have to worry about some mild frost that might occur early in the spring.

    *laughs at cat, but hides it because they don’t like it*

    • killjoke says:

      The climate can be a challenge. The beginning of April was promising so I thought it safe to put out my basil sprouts around May Day. But thenwheather changed and we had just a few hours of mild frost one morning. Enough to kill my Baby Basils. No worry, I have around twenty new ones coming on good, ready to go into my “Zen Garden” when ready.

  3. kimmzifoo says:

    Holy crap Xena, you got so fat!!

    • killjoke says:

      It’s not as bad as it looks It’s the position that makes her look lardish. However, she is not in any way the petite sort of lady. Which in her case is okay, because we have some extremely large male individuals roaming the neighbourhood, and if she had been a fragile little thing she wouldn’t have been able to defend her position as Queen of The Outback.

  4. coisart says:

    that is one big damn cat 😆

    • killjoke says:

      She does appear extremely large on that picture. It’s not that bad. There are larger cats in the world.

      • coisart says:

        i’ve only had smallish in size cats but taking into fact that they just usually cats that visit and we take them in could be an explanation..

      • killjoke says:

        I read somewhere that cats come in two main shapes, the tiger shape and the lion shape. Tiger shaped cats are heavy, and when they walk, they keep their tail in a horisontal level and the head down. Lion shaped cats have raised tails and raised head and are often slender. Tiger cats are solitary, independent and not very social; lion cats are more social and can even hunt in prides. Xena is definitely a tiger style cat.

      • coisart says:

        I’m living in a little room now and last night picked up a stray. dunno if my landlord would abide by it but since it was so freezing cold I couldn’t let the little one stay outside and I dunno if it is someone’s, although it does look fed.
        I’ll certainly look what shape it is as you learn something every day.

      • killjoke says:

        I’m not sure the tiger/lion thing is science. It was something I picked up when I checked Animal Planet’s website where they had this feature on cats. As far as I can tell there are more myths than knowledge surrounding cats and their behaviour. It’s difficult to get proper knowledge on the subject, because every cat owner in the world seems to have their own theories as to why cats do what they do. I try to communicate with the animals, but it does not work every time. Some cats are very hard to “read”, and they really won’t share their notions and sentiments (weird phrases to use when speaking of cats but they do actually have emotions). Most cats, however, are quite easy to “learn to know” (as we say in Denmark). Good luck with the little one. Don’t get too attached. Some day he’ll walk off again. They usually do..

Leave a comment